

Composition of Working Groups

40th Meeting of the Management Board 16-17 December 2015

Item	15
Action	For adoption
Status	Final - Public

Proposal

The Management Board is invited to approve the new composition of its working groups (subgroups) as attached to this note.

The changes result mainly from the fact that the term of office of the three Board members appointed by the Commission to represent interested parties ended on 8 December 2015.

Background

The Management Board has established subgroups to prepare its decision making or otherwise facilitate its work.

Rationale

The proposed changes to the composition of working groups are resulting from ending mandates of Management Board members on 8 December 2015.

Alternative options

The Management Board has the power to compose and structure its subgroups as needed.

Drawbacks

The Management Board should ensure that the WGs have sufficient capacity and a balanced composition.

Attachment:

• Updated Composition of Management Board Working Groups

For questions: mb-secretariat@echa.europa.eu



Helsinki, 17.12.2015

Composition and Mandates of the ECHA Management Board Working Groups

1. Working Group on Planning and Reporting

1. Mr Karel BLAHA (Chair) (September 2014) 2. Mr Thomas JAKL (September 2012) 3. Mr Antti PELTOMAKI1 (March 2012) 4. Mr Kestutis SADAUSKAS² (December 2014) 5. Ms Sharon MCGUINNESS (September 2014) 6. Ms Simona FAJFAR (September 2014) 7. Mr Jörg LEBSANFT (June 2015) 8. Mr Michael FLÜH³ (September 2015) 9. Mr Hans MEIJER (September 2015)

Mandate: To "facilitate the involvement of the Board in the preparation of the planning and reporting activities of the Agency and to make recommendations with respect to decisions to be taken, including the issuance of an opinion, where applicable (e.g. related to work programme, multi-annual work programme, general report etc. – see minutes MB/M/01/2009). Recently the mandate was enlarged on an ad-hoc basis, e.g. to deal with "dossier quality" issues (see minutes MB/M/03/2012).

2. Working Group Reporting Officers for the Executive Director

1. Mr Thomas JAKL (December 2012)
2. Ms Simona FAJFAR (March 2011)
3. Mr Antti PELTOMÄKI (June 2015)

Mandate: Defined in a Management Board implementing rule for the EU Staff Regulations which was adopted in agreement with the Commission (MB/44/2009 final). The roles and responsibilities are defined in this Decision as follows:

- 1. The Management Board shall designate three reporting officers from among its members. One of the reporting officers shall be a representative of the Commission.
- 2. The reporting officers shall be instructed to carry out an appraisal of the jobholder in the context of the annual performance appraisal, the contractual probationary period or, in the case of the Executive Director, the management trial period. They are responsible for organising the dialogue and for drawing up and signing the appraisal report according to the procedures established in this decision.
- Any request by the jobholder for a review of the report drawn up by the reporting officers shall be addressed to the review assessor, who shall be the Chairman of the Management Board, and who shall act in accordance with the procedure set out in Article 13.

¹ European Commission, ex officio

² European Commission, ex officio

³ European Commission, ex officio



3. Working Group on the Board of Appeal

1. Ms Catherine MIR (Chair)
2. Ms Ana FRESNO
3. Mr Kęsţutis SADAUSKAS⁴
4. Ms Luminiţa TÎRCHILĂ
5. Mr Antonello LAPALORCIA
6. Ms Miroslava BAJANIKOVA
7. Mr Hans MEIJER
(June 2014)
(June 2015)
(September 2015)

The reporting officers for the members of the Board of Appeal are Ms MIR, Mr LAPALORCIA and Mr SADAUSKAS.

Mandate: See above under 2. In their function as reporting officers, the mandate of this group also follows Management Board Decision MB/44/2009.

In addition, the Management Board decided in 2009 that the group should also act as a permanent working group on the Board of Appeal and gave the mandate to report back to the Management Board on all issues related to the Board of Appeal and its members (see minutes MB/M/02/2009 for the full mandate). In June 2014, the working group was reinforced with three members because due to the workload incurred (see minutes MB/M/02/2014).

4. Advisory Group on the Dissemination of Public Information on Chemical Substances

1. Mr Antonello LAPALORCIA (Chair) (September 2009) 2. Ms Esther LYNCH⁵ (December 2015) 3. Mr Stefan SCHEUER⁶ (December 2015) 4. Mr Peter SMITH⁷ (December 2015) 5. Mr Kestutis SADAUSKAS (December 2014) 6. Mr Antti PELTOMAKI8 (June 2013) 7. Mr Anastassios YIANNAKI (June 2015) (December 2015) 8. Ms Judite DIPANE

Mandate: The mandate of this group was revised in December 2011 (see minutes MB/M/04/2011) as follows:

- to monitor the progress made on dissemination and other publication on the Agency's website of information on chemical substances
- to assist the ECHA management by giving advice when needed
- to act as "ambassadors" to civil society, in particular by reporting back to their respective stakeholders (and raising awareness)
- to report to the Management Board on its activities

In December 2011 the Board confirmed that three of its members appointed by the Commission to represent interested parties should by default be members of the advisory group (see minutes MB/M/04/2011).

⁶ Ex officio

⁴ European Commission

⁵ Ex officio

⁷ Ex officio

⁸ European Commission



5. Working Group Audit

1. Ms Kassandra DIMITRIOU (Chair) (March 2013, 2nd term)

2. Mr Antti PELTOMÄKI⁹ (ex officio) 3. Ms Nina CROMNIER (ex officio)

4. Mr Thomas JAKL (September 2014)

Mandate: The working group was equipped with Terms of Reference adopted by the Management Board in 2010 (MB/26/2010 final). Accordingly, it assists the Management Board by ensuring that the recommendations of Internal Audit Service (IAS), the European Court of Auditors (ECA) and ECHA Internal Auditor (IAC) are taken duly into account by the Management Board and the Executive Director and are followed by appropriate action. The Working Group is not in charge of the implementation of audit recommendations, which is the responsibility of the Executive Director. In September 2014 the Management Board revised the Terms of Reference of the Group.

6. Working Group on the Transfer of Fees

1. Mr Antonello LAPALORCIA	(June 2010)
2. Ms Luminiţa TÎRCHILĂ	(March 2014)
3. Mr Antti PELTOMÄKI ¹⁰	(March 2012)
4. Mr Keith BAILEY	(June 2015)
5. Ms Parvoleta LULEVA	(June 2015)
6. Ms Anne-France RIHOUX	(June 2015)

Mandate: Initially, the group was established in February 2008 for drafting a proposal [on the arrangements for fee transfer to Member States] and to forward an interim report to be discussed in the June 2008 Management Board (See MB/M/01/2008 initial and document MB/09/2008 final). In 2010 the group was formalised (MB/M/02/2010) and given the mandate to develop a proposal for the Management Board on how the existing decision on the transfers of fees should be amended in order to integrate the remuneration of RAC and SEAC rapporteurs for their work on draft opinions on applications for authorisation (and respective reviews) for these Committees.

For info: other bodies involving MB members

Conflict of Interest (Ethical) Committee:

Antonello LAPALORCIA (August 2014, 2nd mandate)

Quality Steering Committee:

Catherine MIR (December 2013)

_

⁹ European Commission

¹⁰ European Commission