

Helsinki, 21 June 2011 Doc: **MB/28/2011/D**

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE FOR RISK ASSESSMENT AND THE COMMITTEE FOR SOCIO-ECONOMIC ANALYSIS

(Decision of the Management Board)

DECISION OF THE MANAGEMENT BOARD APPOINTING COMMITTEE MEMBERS

THE MANAGEMENT BOARD,

Having regard to Regulation (EC) No 1907/2006 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 18 December 2006 concerning the Registration, Evaluation, Authorisation and Restriction of Chemicals (REACH), establishing a European Chemicals Agency, amending Directive 1999/45/EC and repealing Council Regulation (EEC) No 793/93 and Commission Regulation (EC) No 1488/94 as well as Council Directive 76/769/EEC and Commission Directives 91/155/EEC, 93/67/EEC, 93/105/EC and 2000/21/EC¹, hereafter the "REACH Regulation", and in particular to Article 85 thereof,

Whereas:

- (1) Each Member State may nominate candidates to membership of the Committee for Risk Assessment and the Committee for Socio-economic Analysis. The Executive Director shall establish a list of the nominees, which shall be published on the Agency's website. The Management Board shall appoint the members of the Committee from the list, including at least one member but not more than two from the nominees of each Member State that has nominated candidates. Members shall be appointed for their role and experience in performing the tasks of the Committee,
- (2) Members of the Committees shall be appointed for a term of three years which shall be renewable,
- (3) The Management Board has agreed during its 22nd meeting to appoint new members for the Committee for Risk Assessment and the Committee for Socio-economic Analysis, and to renew the mandate of certain members of these Committees,

HAS DECIDED

Article 1

- 1. The following persons shall be appointed as members of the Committee for Risk Assessment:
 - Mr Peter Hammer SØRENSEN
 - Dr Betty HAKKERT.

¹ OJ L 396, 30.12.2006, p. 1, corrected by OJ L 136, 29.5.2007, p. 3.

- 2. The following persons shall be appointed as members of the Committee for Socio-economic Analysis:
 - Mr Georgios BOUSTRAS
 - Mr Magnus Utne GULBRANDSEN
 - Mr Georg KNOFLACH.

Article 2

1. The mandate of the following members of the Risk Assessment Committee shall be renewed after their current regular three years term expire, as indicated below:

-	Mr Frank JENSEN	24 Sept 2011
-	Ms Thomasina BARRON	17 Dec 2011
_	Ms Marianne VAN DER HAGEN	24 Sept 2011

2. The mandate of the following members of the Committee for Socio-Economic Analysis shall be renewed after their current regular three years term expire, as indicated below:

-	Ms Karen THIELE	25 Sept 2011
-	Mr Janez FURLAN	15 Dec 2011

Article 3

The decision shall have effect from the day of its adoption.

Done at Helsinki, 22 June 2011

signed
For the Management Board
Thomas JAKL