

Composition and mandates of the ECHA Management Board working groups

1. Working Group on Planning and Reporting

- 1. Mr Martin LYNCH (Chair)
- 2. Mr Alexander NIES
- 3. Ms Thomas JAKL
- 4. Ms Pirkko KIVELA
- 5. Mr Antti PELTOMAKI
- 6. Ms Christina RUDEN
- 7. Jean-Roger DREZE

Mandate: The working group was established in 2008 with the task to prepare a first draft multi-annual work programme (see minutes MB/M/01/2008 of February 2008 and document MB/04/2008 final). As it follows from its name, the group deals with all kind of planning and reporting issues, including (multi-annual) work programme, general report, annual activity report, multi-annual staff policy plan or budget preparations. Recently the mandate was enlarged on an ad-hoc basis, e.g. to deal with "dossier quality" issues (see minutes MB/M/03/2012) or the preparation of a written procedure related to a day-care project (see minutes MB/M/04/2012).

2. Working Group Reporting officers for the Executive Director

- 1. Mr Thomas JAKL
- 2. Ms Simona FAJFAR
- 3. Mr Krzysztof MARUSZEWSKI (COM)

Mandate: Defined in a Management Board implementing rule for the EU Staff Regulations which was adopted in agreement with the Commission (MB/44/2009 final). The roles and responsibilities are defined in Article 2 of this Decision as follows:

- 1. The Management Board shall designate three reporting officers from among its members. One of the reporting officers shall be a representative of the Commission.
- 2. The reporting officers shall be instructed to carry out an appraisal of the jobholder in the context of the annual performance appraisal, the contractual probationary period or, in the case of the Executive Director, the management trial period. They are responsible for organising the dialogue and for drawing up and signing the appraisal report according to the procedures established in this decision.
- 3. Any request by the jobholder for a review of the report drawn up by the reporting officers shall be addressed to the review assessor, who shall be the Chairman of the Management Board, and who shall act in accordance with the procedure set out in Article 13.

3. Working Group Reporting officers Board of Appeal

- 1. Mr Jan Karel KWISTHOUT
- 2. Ms Ana FRESNO
- 3. Mr Gustaaf BORCHARDT (COM)

Mandate: See above. In their function as reporting officers, the mandate of this group also follows Management Board Decision MB/44/2009. In addition, the Management Board decided in 2009 that the group should also act as a permanent working group on the Board of Appeal and gave the mandate to report back to the Management Board on all issues related to the Board of Appeal and its members (see minutes MB/M/02/2009, April 2009, formal conclusions).

4. Advisory group on the dissemination of public information on chemical substances

- 1. Mr Antonello LAPALORCIA (Chair)
- 2. Mr Gustaaf BORCHARDT
- 3. Mr Martin FÜHR
- 4. Mr Jan-Karel KWISTHOUT
- 5. Ms Gertraud LAUBER
- 6. Mr Hubert MANDERY
- 7. Ms Kassandra DIMITRIOU

Mandate: The mandate of this group was revised in December 2011 (see minutes MB/M/04/2011) as follows:

- to monitor the progress made on dissemination and other publication on the
- Agency's website of information on chemical substances
- to assist the ECHA management by giving advice when needed
- to act as "ambassadors" to civil society, in particular by reporting back to their
- respective stakeholders (and raising awareness)
- to report to the Management Board on its activities

5. Working Group Audit

- 1. Mr Karel BLAHA (Co -Chair)
- 2. Ms Kassandra DIMITRIOU
- 3. Mr Thomas JAKL (Co -Chair)
- 4. Mr Antti PELTOMAKI
- 5. Ms Nina CROMNIER

Mandate: The working group was equipped with Terms of Reference adopted by the Management Board in 2010 (MB/26/2010 final). Accordingly, it assists the Management Board by ensuring that the recommendations of Internal Audit Service (IAS), the European Court of Auditors (ECA) and ECHA Internal Auditor (IAC) are taken duly into account by the Management Board and the Executive Director and are followed by appropriate action. The Working Group is not in charge of the implementation of audit recommendations, which is the responsibility of the Executive Director.

6. Working group on the transfer of fees

- 1. Mr Arwyn DAVIES
- 2. Mr Antonello LAPALORCIA
- 3. Mr Boyko MALINOV
- 4. Mr Alexander NIES
- 5. Mr Armands PLATE
- 6. Mr Antti PELTOMAKI

Mandate: Similarly to the working group on planning and reporting, this group has no clearly defined mandate. Initially, the group was established in February 2008 for drafting a proposal [on the arrangements for fee transfer to Member States] and to forward an interim report to be discussed in the June 2008 Management Board (See MB/M/01/2008 initial and document MB/09/2008 final).